philippinesadventure

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Blessing in Disguise – A Reality Check from God

So, some of you may already know that I sprained my ankle, but it’s okay if you don’t – I’ll enlighten you. At soccer practice on Wednesday (it’s already been four days since the incident), the Varsity girls were scrimmaging the JV Boys to show that girls are always better than boys. But, boys are bigger than girls, so I learned. We, the guys’ defender and I, were both going for the ball at the same time. We arrived at the same destination simultaneously, but he had a bit more force and body weight going for him, and knocked me over. My left ankle went completely parallel to the ground and back again, and I was in pain. Terrible, agonizing, immeasurable, inescapable pain. I had never felt anything like it in my life. I thank the Lord for the physical therapist working at Faith as our sports medic, Mr. Keating. He massaged my ankle that was swelling like a balloon, and made it hurt more to make it feel better. He’s taken on this phrase as his own: ‘God breaks us down to build us up.’ It’s so true.

Now you know how it happened, but there are several reasons it was a blessing, and not just a burden. I’ve been pretty stressed out about Algebra II – okay, maybe really freaking out. I have a ‘C’ in a class for the first time in my life, and I’ve never had a grade on a report any lower than an ‘A’. God has shown me that I need to take advantage of this recovery time to focus on having a good attitude about math, and really understanding it. He’s also humbled me, made sure that I know I’m not the center of the universe, the top of the world, just because I’m a good soccer player. He showed me that he can stamp out my pride if I am not willing to. The good, compassionate Lord has also now given me the ability to empathize, because I’ve felt real pain, and I know what’s it like. It’s no longer me feeling sorry for people, but me being able to somewhat understand their pain.

In all this, I thank God, and as I wrote in a previous post:

Be joyful always; pray continually; give thanks in all circumstances, for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus. 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

He has made my life harder with this sprain, so that I can better show my faith through my actions and my thankfulness. As much as my ankle still hurts, I’m grateful for this experience. I do ask, though, that you will ask God to continue to restore me as he is the Mighty Healer.

One comment on “Blessing in Disguise – A Reality Check from God

  1. Pat Dominguez
    October 16, 2012

    I can not tell you how thankful I am that God placed you in my life. Praying for you little sister!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2012 by .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

